Whiskey Noobsletter: July 2024

Community Updates

I have a fun one this month - have you heard of the Ohio Distillery Trail? From what I gather, this is Ohio’s response to the Bourbon Trail in Kentucky. It was actually an idea that I had, and wanted to make a series of videos for… maybe even with a website or something. And then I googled it, and… it already existed. And it just launched this past May.

Why am I telling you about an idea that I almost had? Because while I may not have been the first to think of it, I am definitely excited about it! Ohio has a lot of awesome craft distilleries that are actually putting out surprisingly great whiskey, and I am long overdue on visiting them. I already have two visits planned, so keep an eye out for some videos on my favorites.

Cocktail - My New Favorite Summer Old Fashioned?

If you haven’t seen this video already, I highly recommend you go check it out on Instagram (LINK). I came up with an idea for a “chocolate covered orange” old fashioned. Weird, right? But WOW did it blow me away. I always hate when recipes give their big long backstories, so let me give you the recipe first, and then the backstory.

Recipe: 1/4oz simple syrup, 1 dash orange bitters, 2 dashes chocolate bitters, 2oz Woodford Reserve Double Oaked, orange peel (garnish). Build in glass, over a large ice cube. Stir to desired dilution (I don’t stir mine much, because Woodford DO isn’t very strong). Express citrus over the glass, and garnish with the orange peel.

Okay, so now the backstory. Earlier this year I got the opportunity to go to Switzerland, and while I was there I of COURSE had to tour the Lindt chocolate factory. I got to try a bunch of different chocolates that they make while I was there, and much to my surprise, one of my favorites was an orange flavored chocolate. I have no idea how they get the orange flavor into the chocolate, but what I do know is that I struggle to make a good old fashioned with chocolate bitters. Thus the idea for the chocolate covered orange old fashioned was born!

Perfect Pairing Club: Announcement

There is a really exciting announcement coming up for the PPC, so keep an eye out! I will likely be going live with Adam on Tuesday the 23rd to reveal it… big things (like free stuff) are coming! To learn more, please take a look at our site at the link below!